About Islam & Muslims

According to the Quran and Sunnah, a Muslim has to discharge his moral responsibility not only to his parents, relatives and neighbors but to the entire mankind, animals and trees and plants. For example, hunting of birds and animals for the sake of game is not permitted. Similarly, cutting trees and plants which yield fruit is forbidden unless there is a very pressing need for it.

Thus, on the basic moral characteristics, Islam builds a higher system of morality by virtue of which mankind can realize its greatest potential. Islam purifies the soul from self-seeking egotism, tyranny, wantonness and indiscipline. It creates God-conscious men, devoted to their ideals, possessed of piety, abstinence and discipline and uncompromising with falsehood, It induces feelings of moral responsibility and fosters the capacity for self-control. Islam generates kindness, generosity, mercy, sympathy, peace, disinterested goodwill, scrupulous fairness and truthfulness towards all creation in all situations. It nourishes noble qualities from which only good may be expected.

Following is the list of definitions of terms and phrases used in this document not explained elsewhere.


The religion whose fundamental belief is:“ There is no GOD but Allah, and Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him.) is his final messenger.” The sources of Islam are the Glorious Quran and the Hadith, non-controversially relayed, tradition of the seal of all messengers and Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).


Sunnah is the authentic tradition of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), which was related to us through Ahadith (sayings of the prophet) or an action, or an approval of action by the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)


Compulsory congregational prayer on Fridays


For the purpose of these Bylaws, a Muslim is a person who believes in Allah (the one true God), in Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), upon whom the Quran was revealed, as the last and final prophet and messenger of Allah; in the Quran; in the angels; in the Hereafter; and in the destiny (Qadar). A muslim believes in the Quran and the Sunnah as the basis for the binding guidance in life. He must subscribe to the Sunni Shariah.


Laws of Jurisprudence as prescribed by the Ahle Sunnah Wal Jammat (Sunni) sect of Islam. There are four schools of thought (madhab)

Four schools of thought

The four recognized schools of jurisprudence in Islam, namely: Hanafi, Shafi, Maliki, Hambali.


The Quran is the holy book of the Muslims, revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).


Salat is obligatory and supererogatory prayers prescribed by Islam. There are five obligatory daily prayers in Islam.


Shoora is the practice of consultation among the involved parties as defined by Islam.


Core Islamic Beliefs: Six Articles of Faith

More than a billion Muslims share a common set of fundamental beliefs that are described as "Articles of Faith." These articles of faith form the foundation of Islamic belief system.

filter_1Belief in One God

filter_2Belief in Angels

filter_3Belief in Prophets of God

filter_4Belief in Revealed Books of God

filter_5Belief in Day of Judgment

filter_6Belief in Destiny and Divine Decree


Core of the Quran: Surah (Chapter) al-Fatihah

Scholars consider Surah al-Fatihah, the first chapter of the Quran, to be the core of the Quran. It is recited in every formal prayer in the Arabic language. The translation follows:

"I begin with the name of God, the Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful. All praise and thanks are for God, the Lord of the worlds. The Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful. Sovereign of the Day of Recompense. You alone we worship and You alone we ask for help. Guide us to the Straight Path (of Islam), the path of those You have blessed, not the path of those who have incurred Your wrath nor of those who have gone astray. "Core Teachings of Prophet Muhammad

Classical scholars of Islam have condensed the teachings of Prophet Muhammad into a few statements. These comprehensive statements touch every aspect of our lives. Some of them are:


God is Pure and does not accept anything unless it is pure and God has commanded the faithful with what He commanded the prophets.


Actions are judged by the intention behind them.


Core Religious Practice of Islam: The Five "Pillars" of Islam

In Islam, worship is part of daily life and is not limited to mere rituals. The formal acts of worship are known as the five "pillars" of Islam. The five pillars of Islam are the declaration of faith, prayer, fasting, charity, and pilgrimage.

The "Declaration of Faith" is the statement, "La ilaha illa Allah wa Muhammad Rasul-ullah", meaning "There is no deity worthy of being worship except God (Allah), and Muhammad is the Messenger (Prophet) of God"). The Declaration of Faith is more than just a statement; it must be shown with one's actions. To convert to the faith of Islam, a person has to say this statement.

Prayer is a method by which a Muslim connects to God and gathers spiritual strength and peace of mind. Muslims perform five formal prayers a day.

Once each year, Muslims are commanded to fast for an entire month from dawn to sunset. The period of intense spiritual devotion is known as the fast of Ramadan in which no food, drink and sex is allowed during the fast. After sunset one can enjoy these things. During this month Muslims practice self-control and focus on prayers and devotion. During the fast, Muslims learn to sympathize with those in the world who have little to eat.

A type of charity. Muslims recognize that all wealth is a blessing from God, and certain responsibilities are required in return. In Islam, it is the duty of the wealthy to help the poor and needy.

Every Muslim strives to make once-in-a-lifetime pilgrimage to the sacred sites in Mecca, in present-day Saudi Arabia. It is the most intense spiritual experience for a Muslim. Typically, 2-3 million perform hajj every year.